top of page

2023 Ward Music Calendar

Updated: Dec 12, 2023

*Updated through December 2023*


In an effort to help others with their planning, here are the things we are planning for our ward musical numbers and choir pieces throughout the year. I'll update as the year progresses ❤️ (And things are always subject to change?!) Also, many people in my ward play the piano or can help with singing...so I organize and plan and ask, but many are helping. Use your people!


Each month I have a choir number and then fill in the other weeks with musical numbers. I try to have a small group and a solo while also remembering to utilize our primary and youth so that a variety of people and ages are participating in music!


For budget, I shopped the Jackman Music Sale at the end of last year to purchase Hymnplicity books and "This is the Christ" and then I try to use a lot of free or nearly free resources for everything else.


(My end of 2022 music calendar here)


(Here's a list of all choir and musical numbers I've EVER used)


(If you would like a copy of the planning sheet that I use for musical numbers, check out this post.)



January:


2nd Sunday:

Musical number - youth piano solo "Lord I Would Follow Thee" arranged by Susan W Henry


3rd Sunday:

Musical number - the kids who are turning 8 this year singing this arrangement of "When I Am Baptized" by Judy Checketts Hatch


4th Sunday:

Choir number - simple hymn "In the Shadow of His Mighty Hand" written by me. I'll post it soon!


5th Sunday:

All youth singing the FSY/EFY Medley "As Sisters in Zion/We'll Bring the World His Truth" arranged by Michael R Hicks



February:


2nd Sunday:

Musical Number - small women's groups singing "Dearly, Dearly He Has Loved" an arrangement of There Is A Green Hill and Come Unto Jesus. Arranged my me, Marci Preece.


3rd Sunday:

Changed Plans = Congregational Hymn


4th Sunday:

Choir Number - "Our Savior's Love" arranged by Brent Joregensen and in Hymnplicity #4



March:


2nd Sunday:

Musical Number - primary child singing solo "I Will Shine" by Shawna Edwards and shared in the January 2020 Friend magazine


3rd Sunday:

Primary - singing their Easter song "Risen" by Shawna Edwards.


4th Sunday:

(Changed Plans because this became a Fast Sunday!)



April:


(General Conference, Easter, Stake Conference)


4th Sunday:

Musical Number - Activity Day Girls singing "I Love to See the Temple" arranged by Danielle Isaacson.


5th Sunday:

Choir Number - "This is the Christ" by Michael F. Moody and arranged by Darwin Wolford.



May:


2nd Sunday:

Primary - Mother's Day song "Mother, Tell Me the Story"


3rd Sunday:

Choir number - "My Kindness Shall Not Depart From Thee" by Rob Gardner


4th Sunday:

Holiday weekend = Congregational Hymn "When He Comes Again"



June:


2nd Sunday:

Musical Number - All YW singing 2023 theme song "I Can Do All Things" by Nik Day.


3rd Sunday:

Primary - Father's Day Song "The Family is of God"


4th Sunday:

Choir Number - "Come Ye Children of The Lord" arranged by Brent Joregensen and in Hymnplicity #7



July:


2nd Sunday:

Musical Number - Activity Day boys singing "Missionary Medley" arranged by me!


3rd Sunday:

Musical Number - YM singing "Called to Serve" right from the hymnbook


4th Sunday:

Musical Number - Congregational Hymn "I'm Trying to Be Like Jesus"


5th Sunday:

Choir Number - "Press Forward Saints" arranged by Brent Joregensen and in Hymnplicity #7



August:


2nd Sunday:

Musical Number - Small SATB group singing "I Know That My Redeemer Lives" arranged by Brent Joregensen and in Hymnplicity #4


3rd Sunday:

Musical Number - Youth playing cello "Nearer My God to Thee" arranged by Don E Sherwood


4th Sunday:

Choir Number - "Where Can I Turn For Peace?" arranged by Linda Pratt



September:


2nd Sunday:

Musical Number - Piano Solo "Lead Kindly Light"


3rd Sunday:

Musical Number - Youth duet "A Great Work" by Nik Day from 2021 Youth Theme


4th Sunday:

Choir Number - "My Heavenly Father Loves Me" (two part) arranged by Sharon Gilliland



October:


2nd Sunday:

(Fall Break) Congregational Hymn - "I Feel My Savior's Love"


3rd Sunday:

(Fall Break) Congregational Hymn - "I Am a Child of God"


4th Sunday:

Women/YW/Primary Girl Group singing "If the Savior Stood Beside Me" by Sally Deford



November:


2nd Sunday:

Our Primary Program!


3rd Sunday:

(Stake Conference)


4th Sunday:

Choir singing SAB arrangement of "For the Beauty of the Earth" by Sally Deford



December:


2nd Sunday:

Piano & Organ duet


3rd Sunday:

Primary Christmas Song "When He Comes Again/Joy to the World" by Blake Gillette


4th Sunday:

Christmas Program:


  • Youth Harp solo: "God Rest Ye Merry Gentleman"

  • Choir singing "The First Noel" by Dan Forrest

  • Youth Group & Guitar "Away in a Manger" from the hymn book

  • Choir singing "A Carol to the King" by Sally Deford

  • Youth Harp solo: "Bring a Torch Jeanette Isabella"

  • Choir singing "Oh Come All Ye Faithful" arranged by Brent Joregensen and in Hymnplicity (Congregation joined on 3rd verse)



5th Sunday:

Youth Duet "All Because of Him" by Shawna Edwards



PHEW! What a year!!!!


163 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page